Roy Hyndman, FRSC

Professor, School of Earth and Ocean Sciences, University of Victoria; SeniorResearch Scientist, Pacific Geoscience Centre, Geological Survey of Canada (Victoria, BC)

July 17, 2012

Dr. Roy Hyndman is an Emeritus Research Scientist at the Pacific Geoscience Centre, Geological Survey of Canada, and Professor at the School of Earth and Ocean Sciences, University of Victoria. He came to the Pacific Geoscience Centre at its inception, after 10 years on the faculty of Dalhousie University.

He is a former director of the Pacific Geoscience Centre. He has published 200 scientific journal and volume articles on marine and land geoscience research. He has been involved in international collaborative programs, and has participated and organized research cruises in the Atlantic, Pacific, Indian and Arctic oceans, including four scientific deep sea drilling expeditions.

Dr. Hyndman has participated in, and been chair of, a variety of advisory committees, including: chair Advisory Board of SAFOD (U.S. EarthScope program); chair of the Canadian LITHOPROBE Scientific Committee; member of several Ocean Drilling Program committees; member of the Royal Society of Canada Academy of Sciences committee; and member of several NSERC Grant Selection Committees. He has also been a member of review committees for university departments and international agency reviews. Dr. Hyndman was an Associate Editor of the Journal of Geophysical Research and other scientific journals. Over the course of his career he has supervised 20 PhD and M.Sc. graduate students and a number of post doctorate research fellows.

Dr. Hyndman is a Fellow of the Royal Society of Canada, a Fellow of the American Geophysical Union, an Honorary Member of the Canadian Society of Exploration Geophysicists, and a recipient of the J. Tuzo Wilson medal for contributions to geophysics in Canada. He is a former President of the Canadian Geophysical Union.

Role: Workshop Participant
Report: 40 Priority Research Questions for Ocean Science in Canada (July 2012)