News Release

CCA welcomes David Castle as incoming Chair of its Scientific Advisory Committee, Eight New Members

The Council of Canadian Academies is pleased to announce that David Castle has been named incoming Chair of its Scientific Advisory Committee, which is today welcoming eight new members. Dr. Castle will succeed Eliot A. Phillipson, O.C., FCAHS who is stepping down at the end of his three-year term on December 31, 2021.

“I welcome David Castle in this new role and the new members, and I thank Dr. Phillipson for his leadership role and long-standing support,” said Sioban Nelson, FCAHS, Interim Chair of CCA’s Board of Directors. “The new committee members bring a diversity of perspectives and expertise to the table and I look forward to working with them in support of advancing evidence-based decision making in Canada.”

The role of the Scientific Advisory Committee is to advise the CCA’s Board on assessment topics, expert panel composition, and peer review.

The committee’s new members are:

  • Maydianne C. B. Andrade, President, Canadian Black Scientists Network; Professor, Biological Sciences, University of Toronto Scarborough
  • Peter Backx, FRSC, Professor, Department of Biology, and Canada Research Chair in in Cardiovascular Biology, York University
  • Stephanie E. Chang, Professor, School of Community and Regional Planning and Institute for Resources, Environment and Sustainability, University of British Columbia
  • Neena L. Chappell, C.M., FRSC, FCAHS, Professor Emeritus, the Institute on Aging and Lifelong Health and the Department of Sociology, University of Victoria
  • Colleen M. Flood, FRSC, FCAHS, Director, Centre for Health Law, Policy and Ethics; Professor, Faculty of Law (Common Law Section), University of Ottawa
  • Digvir S. Jayas, O.C., FRSC, FCAE, Distinguished Professor and Vice-President (Research and International), University of Manitoba
  • Jamie Snook, Executive Director, Torngat Wildlife Plants and Fisheries Secretariat
  • David A. Wolfe, Professor of Political Science, University of Toronto Mississauga; Co-Director, Innovation Policy Lab, Munk School of Global Affairs and Public Policy, University of Toronto